NDFB scholarship winners announced

Created: 5/17/16 (Tue) | Topic: Education

Eleven individuals from around the state have been awarded scholarships through the North Dakota Farm Bureau Foundation.
The scholarships are a project of the NDFB Promotion and Education (P&E) Committee. This year, $11,000 in scholarships were awarded.
“As an education committee we feel it is important to support the efforts of people wanting to further their education” said Director of Leadership Development Joey Tigges. “We feel that education is so important that we increased the amount given from $500, to $1000 and gave out more money than any year before.”
The Becki Palmer Scholarship for High School Seniors honors a North Dakota Farm Bureau employee who lost her battle with cancer in 2006. Winners of this $1,000 scholarship are: Jerrod MacDonald of Bismarck, Jarret Lardy of West Fargo and Haley Visto of Oakes.
The NDFB Agriculture Scholarship is for an undergraduate student majoring in agriculture that has completed or will be completing their freshman year of post-secondary school. The winners of this $1,000 scholarship are Abby Braaten of Barney, and Calvin Aichele of Beulah.
The Farm Bureau Family Membership Scholarship is awarded to a current Farm Bureau member or family member who has or will have completed their freshman year of college. The winners of this $1,000 scholarship are Stephanie Sundhagen of Tioga and Colton Christmann of Kindred.
The Graduate Scholarship is awarded to a student enrolled or currently attending graduate school. The winners of this $1,000 scholarship are Erika Moderow of Fargo and Kate Whelan of Crystal.
The Future of Agriculture Scholarship is for students graduating from high school this spring who are enrolled in an agriculture college. The winners of this $1,000 scholarship are Hunter Pinke of Wishek and Sara Hatlewick of Jamestown.
Applications for the 2017 scholarships will be available in December 2016. Visit the NDFB website at for a listing of scholarships available. Scholarship applications are due April 1 each year.
For more information on the scholarships or on the Promotion and Education Committee programs please contact Joey Tigges, 701-298-2227 or
If you would like to donate to the North Dakota Farm Bureau Foundation, go to

Share on Pinterest

Do you have a news story to share? Send it to us and we might post it on our website!

Back To Top